An Online Community Of Cocker Spaniel Lovers
Click here to go to the main Zim Family Cockers web site

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Forum rules

Please click here to view the forum rules

Post subject: Dangers of rabbit holes
PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2015 6:57 am 
Active Forum Member

Hi, I am new to this brilliant forum. I have a lovely 2 year old show type cocker who is generally very well behaved. However, she is obsessed by rabbits although does not tend to chase them too far but is oblivious to me when she has one in sight or her nose down. Four weeks ago Ruby disappeared into a rabbit warren, thankfully I saw her go and knew where she was. It took three of us four hours to dig her out guided by her cries from under the ground. Worst trauma imaginable and she is now permanently on a long training line. She shows no fear when I show her a rabbit hole and I'm sure she would do this again. I can't bear to think that she will never be able to run free or rummage in the undergrowth again as she loves to do, does anyone have any experience of this or specific training suggestions. Many thanks.

Post subject: Re: Dangers of rabbit holes
PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2015 8:34 am 
Forum Legend

I cannot imagine the horror. It must have been awful.

Cici is the same. Spaniels, by nature, are very drawn to rabbits, birds..etc.. As an example, I do not like the idea of an electric fence (we are about to put a real fence around our yard so Cici can roam), but they say spaniels are SO drawn to these creatures running around that these fences are not so effective on them. Many dogs in my neighborhood do well with an electric fence.

She will go after anything, even cats and snakes. Completely shuts everything else out.

The only thing I can suggest is obedience training if you haven't already done so. They do off leash training so the dog learns to respond to you when called or stopped.