An Online Community Of Cocker Spaniel Lovers
Click here to go to the main Zim Family Cockers web site

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Forum rules

Please click here to view the forum rules

Post subject: A few honest questions
PostPosted: Mon Dec 30, 2013 9:44 am 
Active Forum Member

I've been researching which breed of dog to add to our family for a few years now and have noticed a trend among breeders of nearly every breed I've investigated. That trend is to raise the puppies indoors. I've also noticed that every breed I have researched is prone to allergies -- something that I don't remember about any of my dogs or my friends' dogs having in years past. Finally, we are learning that allergies in humans may be a product of living in too sterile an environment. I'm thinking about a study of the Amish which was recently reported which indicates that their levels of asthma and hay fever, etc are ridiculously low in their population and very high in a genetically similar population in Switzerland. The study's authors suggest that the Amish children are exposed to all sorts of allergens and microbes in the cow barns as tiny infants and thus become immune to them as they grow. The Swiss control group was raised in an urban environment and rarely exposed to these common allergens and microbes. So, my question is, could the rise in allergies among dog breeds be related to this trend of raising puppies indoors?

Post subject: Re: A few honest questions
PostPosted: Mon Dec 30, 2013 11:08 am 
Forum Legend