An Online Community Of Cocker Spaniel Lovers
Click here to go to the main Zim Family Cockers web site

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Forum rules

Please click here to view the forum rules

Post subject: Possible IMHA/Blood Disorder Danger
PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2015 5:48 am 
I Rescue Cockers

One of the other threads posted in this section discussed flea/tick control. I was very concerned, as both a cocker spaniel owner and doggy mom to an IMHA survivor, to see feeding garlic to your dog was mentioned as a flea deterrent with several studies quoted as to how much garlic a dog can safely eat before the garlic starts to break down blood cells. I stated my concerns as;

While as an evaluator I studied psychometrics and statistics and am well aware of the "how much of this substance can they eat before it actually is toxic" figures, this can also be quite dangerous. For instance, it is a known fact that garlic and onions can cause a breakdown in red blood cells. Yes a normal dog would gave to ingest a large amount for it to be an issue. However, were the specific studies you quoted done only on cocker spaniels? It is a known fact that approximately one-third of all IMHA cases are in cocker spaniels with the fatality rate even with early diagnosis and aggressive treatment at about 50%. There are currently additional studies being done ONLY on cocker spaniels because there is a hypothesis that they are predisposed to the disease due to something in a genetic make-up. Based on that, how much garlic will be too much in a cocker spaniel to trigger an IMHA reaction? Why would anyone take that chance without there being any information on the difference between the possible genetic factor and it's impact in this instance?