Click here to go to the main Zim Family Cockers web site

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Forum rules

Please click here to view the forum rules

Post subject: Dysplasia
PostPosted: Fri Oct 02, 2015 9:59 am 
Forum Legend

Hi everyone.
Rai has recently been diagnosed with dysplasia and has to undergo surgery. I'm a bit frightened as he is my first dog and my little fur baby and I'm really new to this. I never thought we could face such difficulties as he's a healthy, happy dog. I have absolutely no idea what this could represent to him. I've been told he will need at least three months to recover after the surgery. I would really appreciate any information, comments, advice or similar experiences you could share.
Thank you so much in advance.

Post subject: Re: Dysplasia
PostPosted: Fri Oct 02, 2015 1:23 pm 
Forum Legend

I am sorry Rai has dysplasia. As your first dog, it must be scary. I have never had a dog with dysplasia, but have witnessed it in someone else's dog. The surgery is said to have a high success rate and with plenty of rest, limited movement and TLC, your dog should be back to normal. He may want to over-exercise when he feels better a few weeks after surgery, but take it slowly.

I experienced the IVDD injury in Cici a few months ago for the first time. Her injury was so bad, she was falling flat on the floor when she got up. She avoided surgery, but it was bad enough for a couple months where she was allowed no movement except for potty breaks. She was very bored and needed to be constantly monitored - even when she was much improved , but not 100%, I could not allow her to do any crazy jumps or movements so as not to set back her healing. I got her non slip socks because we have wood floors, so perhaps that could be something you could look into if you have slippery floors after his surgery. Wood floors are awful for dogs with any joint issues.

http://www.dogquality.com/products/grip ... HwodgRgPXA