An Online Community Of Cocker Spaniel Lovers
Click here to go to the main Zim Family Cockers web site

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Forum rules

Please click here to view the forum rules

Post subject: Andis attachment combs vs blades
PostPosted: Thu May 07, 2015 8:46 pm 
Forum Legend

I am new to grooming. I recently purchased the Andis clippers with size 10 blade, grooming table, and four attachment combs (1/4", 1/2",1/8" and 3/8") and the cooling spray and oil.

I groomed Cici for the second time today now that her back is almost 100% better. A summer cut, a little longer than 1/2 inch all over, with a curly top knot I like on her head.

I know I am still very new to this, but I feel like the attachment combs are not as neat and effective. Is it better to just get the Andis blades or is this simply because I am inexperienced (or both?).

I feel like I have to go over an area several times to get the length I want and it is not as even as if I just use the #10 by itself. But I don't want to go that short all over.

I thought the attachment combs would do the trick. Is it better to just have the blades?

Also, during grooming, how does one clean the blade's teeth? I wipe them, but there is still hair between the teeth that just gets clogged with the spray.

Thanks for your tips. Need to buy curved scissors too!

Post subject: Re: Andis attachment combs vs blades
PostPosted: Fri May 08, 2015 10:44 am 
Active Forum Member